## A Creator's View of the Music Ecosystem and DMCA

Creating music that matters is more than just a labor of love – it takes all the joy, loss, courage, fear, and humanity that we have. But whether it's a Platinum megahit or a lonely ballad written for just one heart, we are grateful for the chance to share our stories and our truth.

We see much to celebrate in today's music landscape – including vibrant digital services that help fans connect with the songs they love.

But we also see profound obstacles facing young artists and songwriters hoping to find their voice and build a sustainable career.

One of the biggest hurdles is an outdated and ineffective law called the Digital Millennium Copyright Act. Many big tech companies have figured out how to game this law – hiding behind its sweeping immunities while earning billions off of our work. Meanwhile, too many working artists, musicians, songwriters, and producers are left to fight for digital scraps.

Thanks to the DMCA, a single video service has swallowed up almost every other form of listening, while paying among the lowest royalties in the business – rates it extracts from creators who have no effective way to keep unlicensed copies off the service if they refuse.

The DMCA leaves creators at the mercy of rogue websites that operate at the farthest reaches of US law – and beyond – and offers no meaningful way to hold repeat offenders to account. And forces us to stand by helpless as billions of dollars in advertising is sold around illegal copies of our work.

The DMCA has failed in its current form. For the sake of the next generation of artists and songwriters, it must be strengthened, reimagined, and renewed.

Respectfully submitted to the U.S. Copyright Office, (signed as of 4pm EST 3/31/2016)

Zachary Alford Guillermo Brown Elvis Costello

Duke Amayo Tine Bruhn Kwame Coston

Stuart Argabright Jason Burger Sylvie Courvoisier

Sebastian Aymanns David Burnett Michael Crevier

Eszter Balint T Bone Burnett Eli Crews

Shawn Banks Daren Burns Juli Crockett-Feldman

Vagabond Alexander Carter Burwell Connie Crothers

Beaumont Jeff Byrd Chelsea Crowell

Noah Bellamy David Byrne Rodney Crowell

Jay Bellerose Marilyn Carino Reid Cummings

Angelo Bermudez Hayes Carll Gabriel Cyr

Michael Bisio Rosanne Cash Jack Dejohnette

Jim Black Michelle Casillas Amy Denio

Marc Black

Beth Nielsen Chapman Daniel Louis D'Errico

Michael Stephen Blake

Keefus Ciancia

Jack DeSalvo

Stuart Bogie Vongole Cine Jon Diaz

Karen Borca Ty Citerman Marigrace Dineen

Pavel Borodin Jem Cohen John Doe

Joseph Bowie Steve Cole Mike Doughty

Dougie Bowne CJ Martin Coleman Luke DuBois

Michelle Branch

Jennifer Condos

Trevor Dunn

Angelo Branford Holly Conlan Vince Ector

Steph Brown David Conrad Alexandra Eden

Luqman Brown Elizabeth Cook Count Eldridge

Buffalo Brown Chauncey Cool Avram Fefer

Mark Feldman Mary Ho Erik Lawrence

Ben Fields Amy Holland Gregory Leisz

Jeff Formosa Steve Holtje Tessa Lena

Fast Forward Yuka Honda Sean Ono Lennon

Erik Friedlander William Hooker John Leventhal

Gary Fritz Andrew Horowitz Neil Levine

Jonny Fritz Percy Howard Denise Lewis

Reed Fuchs Fen Ikner Terry Lewis

Jason Furlow Gintas Janusonis Edward JT Lewis

Mary Gauthier George Johnson James Lewis

Brian Gempp Kyle Jones Tony Lewis

Melvin Gibbs Waberi Jordan Colin Linden

Lauren Gilbert Terrence Kane Jake Luck

Amy Grant Lenny Kaye Jessica Lurie

Leon Gruenbaum Ray Kennedy Matt Lutz

Sohrab Habibion Shiobhan Kennedy Bernard Lyons

Matthew Hager Dan Knobler Michael Lytle

Emmylou Harris Frederic Koella Al Mack

Jerome Harris Briggan Krauss Rousseau Mannan

Jesse Harris Kristofferson Sarah Manning

Emerson Hart Jim Kweskin George Marich

Chris Haskett Sohrab Saadat Ed Marshall

David Henderson Ladjevardi Billy Martin

Paula Henderson Andrew Lamb Jorge Arévalo Mateus

Matte Henderson Patrick Laplan Kathy Mattea

Ingrid Laubrock

Rich Hinman Grant McClintock

Jim Lauderdale

John McCrea Ian Naismith Tom G. Rainey

Michael McDonald Jay Nash Bonnie Raitt

Billy McNicol Luke Nicholson Paul Steven Ray

Christian Mendoza Colm O'Herlihy Rob Reddy

Tift Merrit Mendi Obadike Vernon Reid

Raz Mesinai Keith Obadike Marc Ribot

Mike Michel Kevin Olsen Matt Richards

Tom Middleton Bryan Ownings Gyan Riley

Bette Midler Gioele Pagliaccia Arturo Artie Rodriguez

Dom Minasi Roderick B. Palmer Joseph Rodriguez

Dominic Missana Jeff Parker M Kumasi Rogers

Russell Mofsky William Parker Adrian Romero

Matthew Montfort Glenn Patscha Johnny Rosado

Meg Montgomery Kenneth Pattengale Marina Rosenfeld

Kristin Mooney Chase Patterson Brandon K. Ross

Carman Moore John C. Peebles Ned Rothenberg

Daniel Martin Moore Ben Perowsky Adam Rudolph

Allison Moorer Johnathan Phillips Chris Ruen

Jason Moran David Piltch Raymond Russell

Ikue Mori David Poe Jared Samuel

Sarah Jane Morris Joseph Allen Popp Dan Schwartz

Stephen Moses Mike Pride Kliph Scurlock

Carly Mostar John Prine Dave Sewelson

John Mulkerin Jim Pugliese Al Sgro

Daniel Murphy Cheryl Pyle Jamshied Sharifi

Frank Murphy Amy Raasch Michael J. Shipman

Michelle Shocked David Torn Ed Ward

Jen Shyu Gene Torres Jair-Rohm Parker Wells

Devan Skaggs Anderson Trindade Doug Wieseln

Dunia Best Sinnreich Bryan Vargas Amanda Williams

Harrison Sokoloff Charles Allen Veatch IV Kenny Wollesen

Tim Sterling V Ness Verdad Allen Won

Mark P. Stewart James Elijah Vialpando Amir Ziv

Tay Strathairn Jade Vincent John Zorn

Chris Wagner



